Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Chio-Tian Folk Drums and Arts Group 九天民俗技藝團

I went to the first annual Techno Nezha Dance competition in Xinying, Tainan last lantern festival. For me, the highlight was not the dancing Nezha Great God Parade Generals, but rather watching and meeting some of the award winning Chio-tian Folk Arts Troupe’s performances. Their evident professionalism, commitment and passion made for very powerful performances. I watched them practice and refine their movements under the critical eye of director Hsu Cheng Rong.Their lovely expressions and exuberance during their performance made them enjoyable to photograph.

It was not until later that I realized that this was the group that has performed on numerous occasions to critical acclaim overseas promoting and preserving Taiwan’s folk culture nationally and internationally. This is also the very group that carried their huge drums up to the peak of Taiwan’s 3,952m Yushan!I watched a stirring drum performance and a Nezha Great God Parade General performance, but Chio-tian is much more than that. They also perform Guan Jiang Shou, Chi and Ba Yeh Great God Parade Generals, among other traditional zhen tou performances as well as teaching kids and adults around the island.

2 responses

  1. Dear Rich,

    My name is Alexandra and I’m managing a meta-blog about travel and activities in South East Asia: http://www.weekend.com.sg/

    I read some of your articles carefully and your content can be really for our readers looking for activities in Taiwan ! Your posts are interesting and you provide really nice pictures.
    In consequence, I decided to select your blog !

    I would like to know if you would be interested to appear on our web portal? It will increase your visibility on internet, and provide good information for my users.

    Send me an email at greenty.com@gmail.com and I will try to answer within 24h.

    Good job again !

    September 14, 2010 at 10:13 am

  2. James Martin

    Great job in New York. I made 3 YouTube videos of your performances

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lU1opSK_VK8

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUx-vp9vhYc

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GttED2vFG8Q

    May 25, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

