Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Tree Photos 2

A Muller’s Barbet (Megalaima Oorti) rests on a Flame Tree (Delonix Regia) branch in Tainan City, Taiwan

These tree photos taken for the special Travel and Culture Issue 2011 of Taiwan Business Topics Magazine. I had quite a bit of time for the assignment so for several months I was always looking at trees. I was waiting for my son to finish kindergarten, admiring the  Flame trees but not taking any pictures (I had more than enough Flame trees) when I saw this Muller’s Barbet fly by. I only had time to shoot with the 105mm that was mounted on the camera, while my 200mm sat in the bag. It was good enough, though.

Formosan Ash, Fraxinus Griffithii, Tainan City, Taiwan

Again, I never noticed all the cicada (蟬) exoskeletons(?) in trees and leaves before the assignment. Now I notice them all the time.

Chinese Goshawk in Hooppine Tree, Tainan City, Taiwan

Here I was walking through Chenggong University Campus after taking some photos of the large Banyans and this gorgeous Goshawk flew by. I chased him down and took LOTS of photos of him sitting in this Hooppine Tree. Sadly I only had my 105mm with me and it was too much of a stretch this time. I waited for a long time hoping to get him in flight as he left the tree. Missed him when he did though.

Weeping Willow, Tainan City, Taiwan

Don’t know the name of this bird. It is pretty common though. Can anybody tell me?

Chinese Goshawk watches insect in Hooppine Tree, Tainan City, Taiwan

I was editing these photos with my son was sitting next to me and, before he had seen this photo, he said, “Did you know Eagles can turn their heads right around?” I didn’t until I watched him following the cicada (blur in top left corner).  I still don’t know how my son learned that.

5 responses

  1. Mike

    Funny story about the Eagle’s heads! I wonder too sometimes where our kids learn stuff…

    July 11, 2011 at 6:15 pm

  2. Mike

    …oh yeah, and the bird in the weeping willow – I think it’s name is Larry.

    July 12, 2011 at 12:06 pm

  3. Pingback: Tree Photos 3 — People and Trees « Liefintaiwan

  4. Some informational read!!

    November 27, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

