Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Tainan Cao Shan Moon World-2 草山月世界

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

Today I will share a few thoughts about my post processing.

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

This was an attempt at an HDR+stitch. First I took a series of bracketed exposures for a typical HDR photograph, then I repeated the process six times as in a typical stitch. Then I processed the bracketed exposures into the six HDR photos seen below. It was time consuming but my freelance photography work comes in waves (sometimes I am swamped with work and I haven’t time to breathe, and sometimes I have no work, now it’s the latter) and I take times like these to market my photography, process old stuff and sometimes just to have fun with photography.

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

The final product is below. One difficult thing for a photographer is admitting something doesn’t work. This can be especially difficult when a lot of time or effort went into a particular photograph or when the photographer is emotionally attached to the subject. If you want to look like a good photographer, you must be cruel in your editing and what photographs you show.  The final HDR+stitch didn’t work for this scene (the first photo in this post is a stitch of the second bracketed exposure, not the HDR+stitch — which I like a lot better). This brings up another point: when preparing a HDR+stitch you also have a nice set of bracketed exposures to learn from; maybe a strongly overexposed or underexposed photo would have a nice effect that would otherwise be missed.

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

Maybe I’ll reprocess the whole batch in a few years with better technique, improved software and come up with something I like!

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

I love processing my photos on my computer, but I can get carried away. The photos above and below  are the same, but processed differently.

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

It’s a good idea to take a break from the computer now and then, and look at things again when rested. And then tone things down a notch… or two. Sometimes I just don’t realize how awful the photos are starting to look.  Here (above) I was trying to get something out of a dull sky. Just doesn’t work. (I did go farther than I really would for illustrative purposes)

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

Six photo stitch, has nice detail when viewed full size.

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

The above photos are pretty much straight out of camera. I tried processing (bringing in a larger tonal range with curves), but it just degraded the image. It works better high key. I am trying not to spend much time processing my photos after an assignment. One reason is that it just takes too long and I have no time for my family, and a second reason is I often find after spending many minutes on a single photo, the original photo straight out of the camera just looks better!

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan

These Moonworld photographs have no deadline. Nobody wants them (yet), so I had the time and luxury to play with them a bit.

Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan
Moonworld Sunrise, Erliao, Tainan, Taiwan
Leave a Reply

