Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Lisong Hot Springs 栗松溫泉

It is good practice to spin up old hard drives lest they lose their magnetic fields and become unreadable. When I do this it is always pleasant to go through old pictures. I was rummaging through an old D100 catalog and came across these Lisong pictures. Lisong hotsprings are accessed from a side road on the Southern Cross-Island Highway (Km169) near the small village of Motian, followed by a steep 2 hour hike. Nestled at the bottom of sheer, brightly colored, mineral caked cliffs, they remain the most beautiful hot springs I have been to.I wrote about Lisong Hot Springs 栗松溫泉 for The China Post a very long time ago (2006) but I haven’t been for a long time.The last time we went was five years ago when my wife was four months pregnant.This photo of my wife, before she was pregnant, was used in the old (2006) German language guidebook, Polyglott on tour, Taiwan.

8 responses

  1. Beautiful! But I think these springs dried up after an earthquake in 2007-2008?

    July 23, 2011 at 5:26 am

  2. You made your wife hike up a steep incline for two hours when she was pregnant? Wow. My wife would divorce me if I did that!

    July 23, 2011 at 6:10 am

    • It’s the Bunun way, my wife would divorce me if I tried to keep her at home. Her mother gave birth to her and her twin sister on the side of the road… on the way home from a full day of work!

      July 23, 2011 at 4:25 pm

  3. Was that the Hot Springs we tried to get down to when we visited a while ago?

    July 23, 2011 at 3:58 pm

  4. Thought so – sure wish we could have made it down, but keeping up to you and Alas for that long was just a bit too adventurous for us then!

    July 28, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Leave a Reply

