Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Trusty 800

My trusty 800 going up a portion of road that went around Hsiaolin.

In English these trucks are often called little blue trucks, but in Chinese they are not because 小藍車 sounds similar to 小爛車 (crappy little car). Most Taiwanese people I know call this particular model ‘800’ after the engine size.

She aint pretty, nor is she the most comfortable ride (I had to take the front seat out so I can fit in), but in the ten years I’ve had her I’ve never had a complaint about her reliability or ability to get me somewhere.

3 responses

  1. Same one? Still going, eh? Amazing!

    July 29, 2011 at 7:05 pm

  2. I hope our car can last that long! What kind of mileage do you get from that?

    July 30, 2011 at 2:12 am

  3. Yup, still going and I expect many more miles.
    Don’t know Chuck, but with only 800cc’s it is pretty decent. It is also very small and light, so small, in fact, that I wasn’t allowed to take my driving test with it. Unfair advantage they said.

    July 30, 2011 at 4:38 am

Leave a Reply

