Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Lonely Planet, Taiwan

Aboriginal band 'Kaka" playing in Dulan. Published in Lonely Planet Taiwan Guide.

I recently received a thank you copy of Lonely Planet from Robert.  The photo of the guitar player on page ten is mine but was mistakenly credited to Robert Kelly (the author). Robert, a great photographer as well as writer, was as surprised as I was. I’m not at all worried about the mistake, just happy to be making money and am rather pleased that I now have photos in most of the major, and several minor, Taiwan guidebooks.

We were in Dulan for Ebu's (My wife's sister) art exhibit

For me, Lonely Planet is the guidebook of guidebooks. It was the one I always had in my pocket when I was on the road twenty years ago and it’s the one I buy when traveling nowadays. I’ve never actually met Robert, but have it on good word that he knows more about Taiwan than is really necessary for a person to know. My only complaint about the book is the photography. Not the photos that are in there of course, but the photographs that should be in there. Good grief, Lonely Planet has their own stock photography company, why not use some of their photos to show how amazing Taiwan is. There are only twenty color (but not glossy) photos on the first twelve pages and only one full page photo; a lovely Taroko Gorge photo by Craig Ferguson. All the rest are quarter pager’s at best.

Dakanow and my wife. Dakanow, an amazing Aboriginal singer, always visits my wife's Aboriginal pub in Tainan and his band played for the opening.

This painting is titled 'Morakot'. Ebu is an amazing artist and has exhibited in Mexico, England and Taiwan. The show sold out.

And the band played on.

and so did we...

My mom enjoyed the show and Dulan. She bought a painting too.

Vaji jumps onto Auntie's bed in Dulan. Hardly Cartier Bresson, but I like it!

2 responses

  1. That’s a nice shot that they used. Dulan is a fantastic place, isn’t it? I’m a little jealous that you got a complimentary copy of the LP though – they told me they only gave them to the writers and so I still don’t have one.

    August 27, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    • Thanks Craig. The book wasn’t for the single photo published, that would be a bit extravagant.

      August 27, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Leave a Reply

