Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Winner of Traveler Voice Photo Blog Award

My blog has just won its first award! The folks at Traveler Voice, a great resource for travelers (really, I’m not just saying that because they gave me an award),  have awarded this blog the top photography blog.

Travel Bloggers Community

Zhen Zhong Female Bajiajiang

This photo has nothing to do with the award, just a project I am working on at the moment. These girls were amazing. I arranged to meet and take their portraits before a performance in Fengshan. I set up inside Shen Wang Temple and they posed in full costume before doing four stage performances (only one Bajiajiang) and then whisked off to Nantz for another performance. It was exhausting to watch! I have since met up with more of the troupe at their base near Neimen where I was able to be a lot more creative with the lighting. More information about Zhen Zhong Art Troupe (振宗藝術團) can be found here and here. Will post more photos on google+ and facebook at some point.

8 responses

  1. Congrats on the award!

    As far as the photo, did you do anything special with the lighting? Or was it a pretty basic light + diffuser setup? I haven’t used off-camera light much in temples – was it easy to bounce?

    October 21, 2011 at 1:39 am

  2. Congratulation! You certainly deserve it.

    October 21, 2011 at 1:48 am

  3. Hi Rich,

    Thanks a lot for mentioning TravelerVoice in your post 🙂

    Keep up the good work 😉
    Erika

    October 21, 2011 at 2:01 am

  4. Joshua, I didn’t know exactly what I was going to be given to shoot, but I knew I would have to move fast; in the end I had time for 3-10 quick shots per subject, so I wanted a general light that would fill in everything and that I wouldn’t have to adjust much for different subjects. I was hoping for the female Bajiajiang so I used a large softbox for the main light to make their skin look pleasing with minimal shadows and so I wouldn’t get any glaring highlights in the elaborate headdress and costumes. I had my subjects in the shade so I could control their look and balanced with the background as the light levels fell. I mostly used a 3X5 softbox overhead, a shoot through umbrella to the right and bounced off a golden reflector on the floor. It worked fine for the women, but for the few men I shot it completely lacked drama.

    October 21, 2011 at 2:22 am

  5. Thanks Hanjie
    I’m happy to mention a site that I like, Erika!

    October 21, 2011 at 2:24 am

  6. Congratulations! So what’s next?

    October 22, 2011 at 1:26 am

  7. Just adding my congratulations on the award!

    October 24, 2011 at 3:39 am

  8. Stunning shot!!!

    May 5, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

