Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Lugang 鹿港

View of Longshan Temple’s main pavilion from front pavilion, Lugang, Changhua County, Taiwan

I had some photos published in Steven Crook’s article for Verve Magazine with the pithy title: “Keeping Behind the Times in Lugang”. I hadn’t been to Lugang for a long time. Actually I had been there only once when I was cycling from Keelung to Tainan about 15 or so years ago. I spent the night but have very little recollection of the town. This time Steve whisked me around to the attractions that he would be writing about and I greatly enjoyed the historical city.

Octagonal Dragon Ceiling in Front Pavilion of Longshan Temple, Lugang, Changhua County, Taiwan

2 responses

  1. The ceiling shot is beautiful! Did you use flash? I took a shot of the same ceiling: http://joshintaiwan.com/2011/09/27/temples-of-lukang/ but prefer yours – especially with those warm tones.

    October 26, 2011 at 8:55 am

    • Thanks, Joshua. No flash. Just tripod and straight up at ceiling. Your photo is shot at more of an angle, I think this is a nicer perspective. Mine is kind of documentary. Apparently this is the most photographed ceiling in Taiwan.

      October 27, 2011 at 12:14 am

Leave a Reply

