Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Factory in Taiwan

This was a scout for a factory panorama. I think in the right light it would be a stunning photo. This is a HDR stitch of 171 photos. Nine exposures blended with nine along the top row and ten along the bottom. Definitely overkill but it was an ordeal to get to this vantage point so I didn’t want to miss the exposure. I parked my truck at a hiking trail entrance hoping it would get me to the top of this hill. It did — but it was a lot more strenuous than I had expected. It took a couple hours to get up, an hour or so to shoot and another two (I took a different (longer) route down) to get down. Expecting an easy jaunt, I didn’t bring water and I didn’t remove the heavy books from my camera bag, both of which I regretted; I was hot, tired and thirsty when I got down. It would be a hard shot to get at sunrise or sunset because there were some scrambly places that would be hard in the dark. Further, I saw two snakes that day; big brown ones, probably not poisonous. I’ve been bitten by a bamboo viper (three days in the hospital) and now have a healthy respect for snakes. Like in a previous post my client told me this is a petrochemical plant and he is not really interested in it. I must learn my factories!

6 responses

  1. watch dave n cody on dual survival
    concentrate on the surroundings
    big questuon under what kind of circumstance why put urself there in the first place
    taking pic of bamboo snake….

    i have plenty respect n totally overwhelmed

    October 23, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    • Jaguar, deep thoughts, man. I wasn’t taking a pic, just cutting grass on our land in Namaxia.

      October 29, 2011 at 6:58 am

  2. You said before you were interested in non-photographers opinions….let me say the pictures look really nice, they’re beautiful, but the colour seems a little off, a little not-quite-real. They look almost as if they were drawn on a computer and not actual photographs. At least in my opinion.

    October 25, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    • Chuck, I know, when I ran these through photoshop’s HDR program it gave me that blue sky. It was kind of smoggy and overcast when I took the pic. That is a byproduct of HDR.

      October 29, 2011 at 6:56 am

  3. Lief, sorry, but I’m very ignorant about stuff like this. What is HDR?

    October 29, 2011 at 11:37 am

  4. HDR (high dynmamic range) is when you take several pictures at different exposures to capture the full ‘dynamic range’ — from bright to dark.
    You can see an example here:
    https://liefintaiwan.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/tainan-cao-shan-moon-world-2-%e8%8d%89%e5%b1%b1%e6%9c%88%e4%b8%96%e7%95%8c/

    October 29, 2011 at 11:44 am

Leave a Reply

