Photographs and Information about Taiwan's Culture, Nature and People by Rich Matheson

Half my life in Taiwan!

My lovely Bunun Wife, Alas, on our land in Namasia

I came to Taiwan via Australia, Indonesia (overland from East Timor to Jakarta by cargo ship, Pelni, little boats, Bemos and hitch-hiking), Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong and then Taipei for a week, before settling in Tainan. I spent my 20th birthday riding out to some little village in the county with BJ, then got hopped up on betel nut and beer at night. Today I spent a quiet 40th birthday in Tainan. I wouldn’t have guessed I would still be here with two lovely children and a beautiful wife twenty years later, but I am glad I am!

6 responses

  1. Another congratulations, Lief. And happy birthday! I didn’t know today was your birthday.

    For me, I got here when I was 23 and I’ve been here for eleven years now. So I’ve got a ways to go to reach the point where you are. But I do have the beautiful wife and two lovely children look you do though!

    October 25, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    • Yes, Chuck. Lovely children. We should get them together sometime.

      October 29, 2011 at 7:01 am

      • Sorry to get back so late. That sounds like a good idea. When should we do it? Your place or mine?

        November 5, 2011 at 5:54 am

  2. Happy for you, but we miss you back here in Canada! Here’s to 40 more wonderful years!

    October 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    • Thanks Mike, I know, eh? (trying to be Canadian) Hopefully the cousins can meet each other next year.

      October 29, 2011 at 7:04 am

  3. Congrats and happy birthday!

    October 26, 2011 at 8:46 am

Leave a Reply

